Water heaters · Quote check
Water Heater Replacement Cost in 2026: Is Your Quote Fair? (40/50-gal, Gas vs Electric vs Tankless)
Your tank just died and you’re holding a quote you don’t trust. This page collects dated public quotes homeowners shared online — not invented national averages — plus a practical checklist for what an installed price should include, and how to compare big-box installation vs a local plumber.
Real quotes people posted (Aug–Oct 2026)
These are individual public complaints and questions, not a survey and not official market data. Prices vary by city, fuel type, venting, code, and whether the quote is a straight swap or a full upgrade. Use them to sanity-check the number on your invoice — then get local quotes of your own.
| What was quoted | Location | Installed quote | Unit shelf price (if stated) | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard 40-gal tank replacement | Not stated (US) | $1,800 | $550 at Lowe’s | Oct 26, 2026 | X · @uncvoss |
| Water heater (type not specified in original post) | Not stated (US) | $5,000 | — | Oct 31, 2026 | X · @RobSats |
| Tankless (reply claim — not a verified invoice) | Not stated | ~$1,200 | — | Oct 31, 2026 | X · reply under @RobSats |
| Tank unit (reply claim — not a verified invoice) | Not stated | under $1,000 | — | Oct 31, 2026 | X · reply under @RobSats |
| 50-gal direct-vent gas (Morris Jenkins quote discussed) | Charlotte, NC | ~$6,000 | — | Aug 28, 2026 | Reddit · r/askaplumber |
| 40-gal Bradford White (company quote) | Colorado | $7,934 | — | Sep 14, 2026 | Reddit · r/PlumbingRepair |
| Same job — local plumber counter-quote | Colorado | $3,500 | — | Sep 14, 2026 | Reddit · r/PlumbingRepair |
| 40-gal electric (Michael & Sons, even with member discount) | Cary, NC | $2,300 | — | Sep 17, 2026 | Reddit · r/cary |
| Neighbor-reported range for similar electric swap | Cary / area | $1,000–$1,250 | — | Sep 17, 2026 | Reddit · r/cary |
| Replacement (unit vs installed) | Milwaukee, WI | $1,750 | $500 unit | Sep 18, 2026 | Reddit · r/milwaukee |
| Installation quote vs unit price (article) | Not stated | $3,000 | $769 unit | Oct 27, 2026 | The Cool Down |
Living set of public quotes only. Reply figures under the Oct 31 X thread are labeled as reply claims, not verified invoices. A Sep 24, 2026 X post (@Shazza_McKenzie) asked how not to get ripped off on a gas water heater but did not publish a dollar figure, so it is not in the table.
What a fair quote includes
A cheap number is often the one missing items you will still pay for later. Ask for a written breakdown. At minimum, check whether these show up (or are marked N/A with a reason):
- Permit — many cities require one for water heater replacement; who pulls it?
- Expansion tank — often required on closed systems; commonly bought separately if omitted.
- Drain pan — especially for upstairs or finished-area installs.
- Shutoff valve — replacement or upgrade if the old one is seized or code-outdated.
- Flex lines / connectors — water (and gas flex if applicable) sized to the new unit.
- Venting changes — critical for gas and direct-vent; a “swap” that needs new venting is not a swap.
- Haul-away — old tank disposal fees add up when left off the quote.
- Labor warranty — how long is workmanship covered, separate from the manufacturer tank warranty?
Also clarify: tank vs tankless, gas vs electric, and 40-gal vs 50-gal. Those choices change the unit price, venting, electrical or gas work, and permit path.
Red flags
- A single-line price with no breakdown — you can’t tell labor from parts from permit from haul-away.
- “Lowest option” from a membership-plan company — the Cary thread showed a member-discount quote still far above what neighbors reported paying.
- Chain or private-equity-owned shops — in the Charlotte r/askaplumber thread, replies warned that PE-owned chains often quote 2–3× and suggested calling a local plumber; look up who owns the company before you sign.
- Billing ~8 hours for a straight swap — a like-for-like tank swap is usually a same-day job; an 8-hour labor line without explanation deserves a question.
Big-box installation vs a local plumber
Home Depot / Lowe’s installed path
You can buy the unit on the floor and add installation through the store’s program. The installed package bundles product + labor (and often haul-away), but the total can still land well above the shelf sticker — which is exactly what several of the public quotes above show.
Home Depot publishes a public page about its affiliate / installation lead program (Home Depot affiliate program overview). We link it only as a reference. Mogul is not a Home Depot affiliate on this page and is not running tracked links.
Buy the unit · hire labor only
Some homeowners buy the tank themselves (big-box or supply house) and pay an independent plumber for install, permit, and disposal. That can make the math clearer: unit price vs labor.
It also means you own warranty registration, returns, and whether the plumber will touch a unit they didn’t supply. Ask that up front.
Get 3 quotes
- Call a local independent plumber (not only the first chain that answers).
- Ask for the same scope in writing: tank type/size/fuel, permit, expansion tank, pan, valves, venting, haul-away, labor warranty.
- Compare apples to apples — a lower bid that skips venting or the permit is not cheaper.
Should you DIY?
Electric like-for-like swaps are more often DIY-feasible for experienced homeowners (power off, correct wire gauge/breaker, code-compliant drain pan and T&P discharge, permits where required).
Gas usually involves venting, gas lines, combustion air, and permits. Mistakes are dangerous. Most homeowners should hire this out.
Parts such as expansion tanks and anode rods are commonly bought at Amazon or Home Depot; we are not listing SKUs or prices here.
Independent installers by metro (stubs)
These sections are seeded from the complaint threads above. We are building verified independent lists and will not invent names, phones, websites, licenses, or reviews. Where a thread named a company, we name it only as it appeared — as the high quote people were asking about, not as a recommendation.
Independent installers in Charlotte
In an Aug 28, 2026 r/askaplumber thread, a homeowner discussed about a ~$6,000 quote for a 50-gal direct-vent gas unit from Morris Jenkins. Replies said chains owned by private equity often quote 2–3× and to call a local plumber instead. (Source thread)
Verified independent shops for this directory: not yet listed — being built. Practical advice meanwhile: get three written quotes; prefer a local shop; look up ownership.
Independent installers in Raleigh–Cary
In a Sep 17, 2026 r/cary thread, Michael & Sons quoted $2,300 for a 40-gal electric even with a member discount; neighbors reported $1,000–$1,250. (Source thread)
Verified independent shops for this directory: not yet listed — being built. Get three quotes; prefer a local shop; look up who owns the company.
Independent installers in Milwaukee
A Sep 18, 2026 r/milwaukee post described a $1,750 quote on a $500 unit. No installer name was treated as verified for this page. (Source thread)
Verified independent shops for this directory: not yet listed — being built. Get three quotes; prefer a local shop; look up ownership.
Independent installers in Denver / Colorado
In a Sep 14, 2026 r/PlumbingRepair thread, a Colorado company quoted $7,934 for a 40-gal Bradford White; a local plumber then quoted $3,500. Company names beyond that contrast are not listed here. (Source thread)
Verified independent shops for this directory: not yet listed — being built. Get three quotes; prefer a local shop; look up ownership.